Reviews

What our customers are saying

  • 5 star ratingLovely Food. We had a lovely evening meal here, in very nice surroindings, a nice building with a bar with seating for food and a restaurant area, the food was lovely, the waitress was very nice, we will book again, highly recommended.

    davep363
    9/19/2021

    5 star ratingAccommodating owner and lovely food! Visited this pub on a family holiday for an evening meal with dogs! I would have to say that they were very welcoming and accommodating for both us and the doggos! Food was delicious and the service was prompt! The owner was very kind and chatty and even gave our dogs some treats! Would definitely recommend for a lovely evening meal.

    Clive B
    9/09/2021

    5 star ratingLovely family meal We were holidaying in Witheridge and had a takeaway from the Mitre Inn on the evening we arrived. We were really impressed with the food and the service so we booked to go back and eat in. The staff were so friendly and the food was gorgeous. They also had a great kids menu which my toddler loved.

    charliew202
    9/06/2021
  • My family and I eat here yesterday and had a lovely meal. I had the pork belly which was very tasty and my wife a burger which I tried and finished it off!The owner and staff were so friendly too and we can thoroughly recommend this venue and are going back for more!!

    Mr Cook
    8/16/2021

    Great pub , good service and good food .

    Andrew Whelan
    8/10/2021

    Excellent Sunday lunch served by happy, smiley people! A real treat for us. Thanks.

    Godfrey Sutcliffe
    8/10/2021
  • Accommodating, friendly and welcoming staff. Dealt with 9 people and a dog, refilled our waterbottles, found us blankets when we were cold. Two gorgeous golden retrievers to stroke on your way to the loo! Incredible food, so unbelievably tasty. Great prices and great options for all (including an amazing stuffed aubergine for vegetarians.) But overall the best thing was the service and smiles from all staff. Thank you! From the mottley crew with the big fluff ball dog!

    Rebecca Goode
    7/11/2021

    Very friendly reception, and very good food. Hot and tasty. Plenty of room in restaurant on Friday evening in June.

    Melvyn Francks
    7/02/2021

    Excellent evening meal

    Elaine Curtis
    6/25/2021
  • 5 star ratingGood food and welcome Stayed not far from the Mitre for a week and visited 3 times for lunch across that time. A super welcome from Andy and Barbara, who made us all feel very welcome.

    We had a variety of Panini’s, all were excellent.

    Made a fuss of our 8 month old, too.

    highly recommended. If we’re back in the area at any point, i wouldn’t hesitate to visit again.

    All the best.

    Steve, Ruth and little legs.

    sah8485
    6/24/2021

    Fantastic pub in a great Devon village.Good menu and friendly staff.Here on sunny Whitsun break.Perfect.

    Mike P
    6/17/2021

    Great service, friendly staff ..highly recommend a visit

    CHAPERS 97
    6/17/2021
  • Lovely place. A classic, chilled out country pub. Great food and ale.

    Colin Smith
    6/17/2021

    Have just enjoyed an excellent Sunday roast with the family. Good food, good beer, friendly service and scrummy deserts.

    Keith Wetten
    6/17/2021

    Very friendly staff, food was great and some excellent ales.

    Chris Wright
    6/17/2021
  • Amazing service

    Perer “Oh Yeah Baby” 0eter
    6/17/2021

    5 star ratingMitre inn What a jem of a place, made to feel so welcome and food was fantastic, cheers
    Would definitely recommend

    M G
    6/17/2021

    Late on in the day of a lengthy bike ride, we called up to see if there was a room available. Hopeful for just a place to lay our heads and have a shower, we were so, so pleased to get the level of hospitality we received from Barbara. She made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we got there. Even though the kitchen was closed, she made us delicious sandwiches. The building is a handsome old place and the room was lovely and clean. We had a cooked breakfast in the morning and Barbara was really accommodating for my girlfriend's dietary requirements (gluten and lactose free). The bar area is exactly what you want from a pub – unchanged and genuine. Overall, it was a fantastic experience.Also, we made it to Lizard Point today!

    David Newcombe
    6/17/2021
  • 5 star ratingGreat food Great restaurant with wide range on the menu. Thursday was curry night but went for the belly pork which was delicious. A few pints of Exmoor Gold also helped. Very friendly staff and great service. Perfect after a hard day walking, cycling or just touring Mid Devon.

    N7836MMkeithb
    6/11/2021

    5 star ratingSteve Have enjoyed the friendly service of this lovely pub all week. Intial pint on first day of holiday turned Into enjoying this fine pub for the rest of our stay. Great atmosphere complimented by superb staff. Highly recommended.

    W9163ULsteveh
    6/10/2021

    5 star ratingRyan Stayed round the corner and popped in for a pint! just enjoyed this lovley pub for our weeks stay Great service very friendly highly recommend

    Ryan C
    6/09/2021
  • 5 star ratingQuick service, friendly atmosphere, highly recommend!! Excellent , friendly service and Very welcoming! Became our local for the week, Beautiful pub! Highly recommend visiting!

    Jessica H
    6/09/2021

    Lovely old fashioned North Devon pub. The food is oustanding. Try the venison sausages.

    michael spendlove
    5/23/2021

    Amazing food the best steak I have ever eaten! We ate as a family last night and tonight me and my partner went back and it was incredible! Beautiful pub and wonderful people and service 🙂

    Rachel Collins
    5/22/2021
  • Absolutely Amazing food, we didn’t even realise this lovely place was just on our doorstep. Would 100% recommend to anyone in the the Tiverton are.

    lukas stelios
    5/21/2021

    5 star ratingGreat food We recently stayed nearby and ate here as well as ordering takeaway. Food was lovely and very hospitable hosts.

    adaroberts
    5/20/2021

    Great service and friendly. Just moved to the area and we're so pleased to have a dog friendly pub a short walk away

    Daniel Hughes
    5/05/2021
  • Great curry night with Goat on the menu. Bit chilly outside but we'll worth it.

    Andrew Johnson
    4/28/2021

    Andy and Barbara have reopened to serve customers at outside tables. Unfortunately there is no garden but the pavement is wide and it is pleasant to be able to chat to passers-by. Beer good and made welcome. Looking forward to being able to go there for a meal in a few weeks time.

    June Mike
    4/26/2021

    4 star ratingGreat Thursday curry night We enjoyed a range of vegetarian and meat takeaway curries at The Mitre Inn.
    Really recommend the delicious home cooked food here.

    LizT258
    4/17/2021
  • Andy and Barbara have reopened to serve customers at outside tables. Unfortunately there is no garden but the pavement is wide and it is pleasant to be able to chat to passers-by. Beer good and made welcome. Looking forward to being able to go there for a meal in a few weeks time.

    June & Michael Turner
    4/17/2021

    Great takeaway curry. Thanks.

    JS
    2/26/2021

    Amazing good!

    Hayley Wakefield
    1/26/2021
  • Covid very well organized and carried out friendlyService and very good food as usual. You are always guaranteed a good meal at the mitre witheridge. Very very good, thank you

    Trevor Nott
    12/26/2020

    5 star ratingExcellent Excellent food, generous servings and service is fantastic Emma is always so welcoming & remembers us even though there are months between our visits! We eat here whenever we stay in Witheridge. Very dog friendly too. Would highly recommend

    Q19AFdebbieg
    11/24/2020

    5 star ratingGreat pub, wonderful food Easy to book, very good Covid protocols. Food was amazing, good portion sizes and beautifully cooked and presented.

    Rarebear224
    10/28/2020
  • Lovely room, owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Witheridge is a good place to stop on the Two Moors Way. Would recommend staying here.

    Simon Hackett
    10/26/2020

    Location, cosy atmosphere, friendly staff, cleanliness. Great breakfasts..

    Carole
    10/26/2020

    Super inn, with clean and comfortable rooms, excellent food and first class hospitality. We were made to feel so welcome as a family. Outstanding sausages! A really lovely stopover, we will return!.

    Arabella
    10/26/2020
  • Comfortable and convenient. Staff were friendly. Excellent breakfast..

    Michael
    10/26/2020

    5 star ratingOctober 2020 Sunday roast – vegan Had a great vegan and vegetarian roast. Wide range of puddings, and a wide normal menu. Photos are of vegan roast and vegan chocolate lava pudding.

    Staff lovely and helpful, nice local country pub with above normal food. Would go again. Photo 3 of vegan menu Oct 2020

    29liamo
    10/25/2020

    A lovely Inn! Super inn, with clean and comfortable rooms, excellent food and first class hospitality. We were made to feel so welcome as a family. Outstanding sausages! A really lovely stopover, we will return!

    Arabella
    10/25/2020
  • The breakfast was very disappointed?,the room was freezing,the towels were threadbare.

    David
    10/17/2020

    Friendly Welcome, Great Service Location, cosy atmosphere, friendly staff, cleanliness. Great breakfasts.
    Nothing

    Carole
    10/15/2020

    Very good Comfortable and convenient. Staff were friendly. Excellent breakfast.
    Nothing

    Michael
    10/07/2020
  • Excellent roast dinner and service. Highly recommended.

    Bev Barrett
    9/26/2020

    The room war clean and the beds are comfortable.The staff was also very friendly and the food was good.We certainly enjoyed our short break there.

    Manie M
    9/26/2020

    Lovely meal and surroundings.

    Margaret Smith
    9/26/2020
  • Really appreciate you taking us in at the last minute. Needed a room at the last hour minute. Food was great too. You must try them.

    J T
    9/26/2020

    Really comfortable room, excellent food, lovely people!.

    Susan
    9/26/2020

    4 star ratingDelicious meal We had a meal here whilst staying at the nearby Newhouse Farm Cottages. Suitable Covid precautions had been put in place – a bell to ring when you arrived so you could be met at the door, hand sanitiser, only certain tables being used. The menu was still extensive with a good variety. We started with the trio of breaded cheeses which was lovely (mozarella, brie and camembert). I then had trout en croute with new potatoes and salad whilst my husband had Nepalese lamb curry, both of which were very tasty. I finished with a delicious cheesecake (passion fruit, lime and coconut from memory) and my husband had the cheeseboard which had a fantastic range of local cheeses. The young man serving us was very polite and helpful. I would say this is a mid-price range restaurant. A lovely touch was that when we asked to take home the cheese that my husband couldn’t manage, this was put in a container with some extra crackers! As we had such a good experience, we ordered take-out lasagne the following evening which was also very nice.

    Heather N
    9/25/2020
  • 4 star ratingDelicious meal We had a meal here whilst staying at the nearby Newhouse Farm Cottages. Suitable Covid precautions had been put in place – a bell to ring when you arrived so you could be met at the door, hand sanitiser, only certain tables being used… …As we had such a good experience, we ordered take-out lasagne the following evening which was also very nice.

    Heather N
    9/25/2020

    Superb Really comfortable room, excellent food, lovely people!

    Susan
    9/25/2020

    Lovely place, nice to get away to a quiet rural area. Everything was nice, especially Rachel.
    Nothing, all was good

    Sam
    9/24/2020
  • 5 star ratingTuesday curry We are staying nearby and noticed the Mitre were offering two takeaway curries for £20.
    I had the Korma and the wife had the vegetable curry.
    Very nice with an onion bargee and fresh naan bread.

    Bedfordrl
    9/23/2020

    Lovely place and we will be going back The breakfast was spot on well cooked and lovely cup of tea along with great service what more could you ask for great value for money the beer was well looked after and the prices were very good for the area
    The only thing we didn’t like was leaving because the place was just lovely and the local people chatted away like we have known them for years

    Ken
    9/19/2020

    Exceptional Excellent breakfast good choice

    Anonymous
    9/19/2020
  • 5 star ratingDinner Booked a table for 3 with my dad and his gf, they are both vegetarian and were pleasantly surprised by the wide range of foods available. I had the chicken Kiev with salad and sweet potato wedges followed by the most amazing sticky toffee pudding and ice cream.
    Lovely pub, great food and beer.

    B5540PJemmaw
    9/18/2020

    Superb Nice atmoshphere, helpful friendly staff, good food, location central to pretty village yet quiet, good all round
    All fine

    Anonymous
    9/16/2020

    Superb Nice atmoshphere, helpful friendly staff, good food, location central to pretty village yet quiet, good all round
    All fine

    Anonymous
    9/16/2020

Required field

How do you rate us?
What do you think about us?
What is your full name?
What is your email?